Scientific Council

Goals and Legal Bases of the Scientific Council

The Scientific Council of the W. Szafer Institute of Botany of the Polish Academy of Sciences is a body:

  • supervising the research activity of the Institute and encouraging high-quality research;
  • acting as the advisory and consultative body to the Institute on matters concerning its statutory activities and development of its research and technical research staff;
  • authorized to confer academic degrees: PhD in exact and natural sciences in the discipline of biological sciences and habilitated doctor (DSc) in exact and natural sciences in the discipline of biological sciences.

The Scientific Council of the IB PAS acts according to the provisions of:

Scientific Council Members (Term 2023–2026)

  • Professor Martin Kukwa
  • Dr. Marta Wrzosek
  • Professor Bogdan Zemanek
  • Dr. Magdalena Moskal-del Hoyo
Representatives of the scientific staff of IB PAS
  • Dr Elżbieta Cieślak
  • Dr Paweł Kapusta
  • Dr Magdalena Moskal-del Hoyo
  • Dr Beata Paszko
  • Dr Jolanta Piątek
  • Dr Marcin Piątek
  • Dr Łukasz Piechnik
  • Dr Michał Ronikier
  • Dr Renata Stachowicz-Rybka
  • Professor Anna Stefanowicz
  • Dr Tomasz Suchan
  • Dr Magdalena Szczepaniak
  • Dr Grażyna Szarek-Łukaszewska
  • Dr Elżbieta Worobiec
  • Dr Grzegorz Worobiec
  • Professor Magdalena Żywiec
Members not employed at IB PAS
  • Professor Jan Holeksa
  • Professor Martin Kukwa
  • Dr. Mirosław Makohonienko
  • Professor Zbigniew Miszalski
  • Dr. Piotr Mleczko
  • Professor Irena A. Pidek
  • Professor Jerzy Szwagrzyk
  • Professor Ireneusz Ślesak
  • Dr. Marta Wrzosek
  • Professor Bogdan Zemanek
Member of the Interdisciplinary Center for Physical, Chemical and Medical Sciences appointed by the resolution of the Presidium of PAS
  • Professor Małgorzata Filip
Members of the Polish Academy of Sciences, appointed to the IB PAS Scientific Council by Division II of Biological and Agricultural Sciences of PAS
  • Professor Kazimierz Strzałka, ordinary member of PAS
  • Professor Katarzyna Turnau, ordinary member of PAS
Representative of PhD students
  • Miron Gieniec
Directors of IB PAS
  • Professor Lucyna Śliwa – Director
  • Dr. Agnieszka Wacnik – Deputy Director for Scientific Affairs